Tirsdag 25. okt Kl. 19:00

HVOR: Samfunnshuset
VARIGHET: Ca. 75 minutter uten pause
ARRANGØR: Moss Jazzklubb

PRIS: 350,-
MEDLEM (av Moss Jazzklubb): 275,-
UNGDOM (t.o.m. 25 år): 100,-

Konserten starter presis. Dørene til salen åpner 1 time før konsertens start.

Baren åpner 1 time før forestillingen starter. Vær ute i god tid for å inngå kø.

Rabatterte billetter er kun gyldig ved fremvisning av evt. moderasjonsbevis.


Kenny Wessel Nonotes Ensemble – Moss Jazzklubb

Moss Jazzklubb presenterer Kenny Wessel’s Nonotes Ensemble.

Kenny Wessel’s Nonotes Ensemble features some of the most compelling voices in creative music today. This quartet re-unites guitarist Wessel with his old friend and musical brother, vibraphonist Rob Waring. Growing up together in New York, they were involved in a period of artistic discovery and exploration, while delving into the traditions of jazz and creative music. Rob moved to Norway in 1981 and Kenny stayed in New York City. Each has carved out a unique and exciting career performing, composing and teaching, in their respective countries and around the world. Wessel’s experience as a member of Ornette Coleman’s Prime Time, coupled with his interest in world music, particularly North Indian music, and performances and recordings with numerous jazz artists has given him a broad spectrum of influences to dip into. Rob Waring’s deep commitment to contemporary classical composition and jazz, brings some added color and depth into the group. NoNotes combines this dynamic, intuitive and innovative front line with two of Norway’s strongest, most sensitive and in-demand rhythm section players, Mats Eilertsen on acoustic bass and Hans Hulbækmo on drums.

Kenny Wessel – guitar
Rob Waring – vibraphone
Mats Eilertson – bass
Hans Hulbækmo – drums

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Kenny Wessel, a versatile, sensitive and soulful guitarist and composer, has performed in 28 countries. He toured with revolutionary jazz artist Ornette Coleman for over 12 years as a member of Prime Time, Ornette’s groundbreaking ensemble. Kenny can be heard on Coleman’s CD, Tone Dialing. Performing Ornette’s “Skies of America,” Wessel has appeared with Kurt Masur and the New York Philharmonic and London’s Philharmonia Orchestra. A vital and personal voice on the jazz guitar, he has also worked with Donald Fagen (featured guitar soloist on Fagen’s Morph the Cat), David Liebman, John Abercrombie, Badal Roy, Karl Berger, Joe Lovano, Debashish Bhattacharya, Debbie Harry, Laurie Anderson, Gloria Lynne, Adam Rudolph and others from the jazz, pop and world music spectrum. Wessel has 4 CDs as a leader (Unstrung, Weights & Measures, Jawboning and Daybreak) and is an active educator, teaching at Western Connecticut State University, City College of New York and the New York Jazz Workshop, in addition to giving clinics around the world.

Rob Waring and Kenny Wessel have been friends since the age of 13. They began playing together in high school. During the 1970s they had a working jazz quintet in Manhattan, where they performed in clubs and were part of the loft scene. Rob moved to Norway in 1981 and has been active as a jazz vibraphonist, classical percussionist, composer, and teacher at the Norwegian Academy of Music. Among the many artists and bands he has toured and recorded with are John Surman, Mats Eilertsen’s Rubicon, Eyolf Dale’s Wolf Valley, Elin Rosseland, Misha Alperin, Espen Rud, Søyr, Roger Johansen, Jon Eberson, as well as his own trio with Carl Morten Iversen and Frank Jakobsen. He is a prolific composer and has been commissioned to write for numerous ensembles within both jazz and contemporary classical music.

Mats Eilertsen is one of Norway’s most accomplished and sought-after bassists, having played on over 100 recordings and toured all over the world with both his own ensembles and those of many major European jazz artists over the past 20 years. He is very active as a composer, was commissioned by the Voss Jazz Festival in 2014 to compose an evening length work («Rubicon»), and has won a Norwegian Grammy (Spellemannprisen 2019) for his album “And then comes the night” with Mats Eilertsen Trio.

Hans Hulbækmo has established himself as one of Norway’s most active drummers and has been touring and recording with bands such as Moskus, Hanna Paulsberg Concept, Skadedyr, Broen, and the Norwegian-Swedish quintet Atomic. He is the son of musicians Tone Hulbækmo and Hans Fredrik Jacobsen and has deep roots in folk music. The whole family performs together as a band. Collaborating with musicians such as Anders Røine and the Kjorstad brothers, Hans also explores new directions in music inspired by traditional Norwegian folk music.